Publications Committee


The Publications Committee supports the membership in operating effectively in a rapidly changing publishing environment. It does so by advising the AAR on policies and programs to help members publish, in various media, critical reflection on religions, and to help departments and institutions evaluate scholarship fairly. It develops policies and good practices for the AAR’s in-house publications, the book series, JAAR, and Reading Religion.

Committee Members

  • Terms of Office: Ex officio, five-year term (renewable once) in the case of the JAAR editor and book series editors; four years (nonrenewable) for the chair and non-editor members
  • Composition: Up to ten members, including the book series editors and the JAAR editor
Full NameTerm StartTerm EndPosition
S. Brent Plate1/1/202412/31/2027Chair
Dr. Stacey M. Floyd-Thomas1/1/202312/31/2026Committee Member
Teren Sevea1/1/202312/31/2026Committee Member
Barbara Sostaita1/1/202312/31/2026Committee Member
Professor Margaret D. Kamitsuka1/1/202212/31/2026Editor - Academy Series
Andrea Jain10/1/201812/31/2027Editor - JAAR
Alda Balthrop-Lewis1/1/202212/31/2026Editor - Reflection and Theory in the Study of Religion Series
Jonathan Tran1/1/202212/31/2026Editor - Reflection and Theory in the Study of Religion Series
John Nemec1/1/201512/31/2024Editor - Religion in Translation Series
Kristian Petersen1/1/202312/31/2027Editor - Religion, Culture, and History Series
Amy Defibaugh  Staff Liaison