Committee on Professional Conduct


The AAR Committee on Professional Conduct is responsible for promoting ethical conduct by scholars in the study of religion at the highest professional level through development and sponsorship of educational activities for AAR members and investigation of formal complaints concerning the ethical conduct of members of the AAR (as described in the Professional Conduct Policy and Professional Conduct Procedures). The Committee on Professional Conduct adjudicates formal complaints under this policy, and reviews and makes recommendations to the AAR Board of Directors about modifications of the Professional Conduct Procedures.

Committee Members

Term of Service: Ex officio in the case of elected Board of Director members; four years for non-board Members (appointed by AAR President)

Committee Composition: Regions Director, Status Committee Director, and three non-board Members

Full NameTerm StartTerm EndPosition
Dr. Thelathia Young1/1/202412/31/2024Chair
Barbara A. Holmes1/1/202212/31/2024Committee Member
Grace Y. Kao1/1/202412/31/2027Committee Member
Kathryn Lofton1/1/202412/31/2026Committee Member
Dr. Matthew Vaughan11/20/202311/22/2026Committee Member
Claudia Schippert8/1/2023 Staff Liaison

AAR Facilitators

The AAR Facilitators work with the AAR’s Committee on Professional Conduct. The AAR Facilitators are responsible for receiving reports of professional misconduct and facilitating the investigation, adjudication and informal resolution processes under the Professional Conduct Policy. The Facilitators serve in staggered three-year terms and are appointed by the AAR president in consultation with the Executive Committee.

Contact: [email protected]

Current Facilitators

Term of Service: Three years for Facilitators

Full NamePositionTerm StartTerm End
Rebecca AlpertFacilitator10/4/202212/31/2026
Herbert R. MarburyFacilitator9/10/202212/31/2025
Cyrus ZargarFacilitator1/1/202412/31/2026