Status of LGBTIQ Persons in the Profession Committee


The Status of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Intersex, and Queer Persons in the Profession Committee recommends policies and good practices to assure the full access and academic freedom of LGBTIQ persons within the Academy and develops programs to enhance their status in the profession.

Recommended Resources

Meeting Schedule

  • One in-person meeting at the Annual Meeting in November
  • Virtual meetings in spring, fall, and as needed
  • Committee members meet in person with the other status committees every other year for a summit

Committee Members

  • Term of Office: Four years, non-renewable
  • Committee Composition: Up to six members
Full NameTerm StartTerm EndPosition
Melissa M. Wilcox1/1/202412/31/2025Chair
Mr. Daniel Ballon-Garst1/1/202212/31/2025Committee Member
Siobhan Kelly1/1/202412/31/2027Committee Member
Dr. Eziaku Atuama Nwokocha1/1/202212/31/2027Committee Member
Rev. Dr. Teresa Louise Smallwood1/1/202112/31/2024Committee Member
Jessica Vazquez Torres1/1/202212/31/2024Committee Member
Jacob Robinson8/1/2023 Staff Liaison
Claudia Schippert8/1/2023 Staff Liaison