Governance and Staff

Board of Directors

The Board of Directors consists of twelve members elected by the membership and the AAR Executive Director, who serves in a nonvoting role. The Board of Directors governs the organization through strategic planning, policy development, assessment, and advocacy, and it oversees the AAR's working groups as well as the staff. 

Committees and Working Groups

The AAR's many working groups include juries for AAR grant and award programs, specially commissioned task forces, and numerous committees that serve the needs of AAR constituents, public programming, and the academic study of religion.

Regionally Elected Coordinators

The AAR's ten regions are each represented by a Regionally Elected Coordinator who promotes the work of the regional group and serves on the AAR Regions Committee.


The AAR's staff work from a main office located in the Luce Center on the campus of Emory University in Atlanta, Georgia. Many staff members serve as liaisons to the AAR's working groups and the committees of the AAR Board of Directors.