Graduate Student Committee


The Graduate Student Committee addresses the needs and concerns of graduate students and promotes their professional development and participation in the American Academy of Religion and the academy as a whole.

Duties and Responsibilities:

Graduate Student Committee members are expected to participate in a variety of activities, including the following:

  • Programming for Student Sessions at the AAR Annual Meetings
    • Student Roundtable Sessions and Special Topics Forum; co-sponsored sessions, workshops, or other special events; GSC Business Meeting
  • Additional activities for AAR Student Director
    • Student Director attends AAR Board Meetings
  • Additional activities for Regional Student Directors
    • Regional Meeting

Meeting Schedule

  • One in-person meeting at the Annual Meeting in November
  • Meetings in spring, fall, and winter via Zoom

Timeline of Activities:

  • Speaking of Students newsletter is sent out quarterly.
  • At the AAR Annual Meeting in November:
    • Friday: GSC Committee Meeting
    • Saturday: Special Topics Forum
    • Saturday/Sunday/Monday: Student Roundtable Sessions
    • Sunday: GSC Business Meeting


  • December 15 - Open Call for Papers
  • December/January - Student Director submits Board Report
  • February/March - Finalize AM Programming
  • April 1- Submit all Annual Meeting Sessions/Events/Activities

Recommended Resources

Committee Members

  • Term of Service: AAR Student Director serves a two-year, non-renewable term. Each Regional Student Director is elected by their Region for a two-year term of service and may serve an optional third year.
  • Committee Composition: Ten regionally elected Student Directors and the AAR Student Director, who serves as committee chair. The AAR Student Director is a member of the AAR Board of Directors. Each regionally elected Student Director serves as a member of their Regional Board of Directors.
Full NameTerm StartTerm EndPosition
Ristina LeNae Gooden11/20/202311/25/2025Chair
Aixin Aydin  Committee Member
Jacob Barrett3/13/20233/13/2025Committee Member
James Berry  Committee Member
Kristen Daley Mosier  Committee Member
Htet Min Lwin  Committee Member
Moriah Reichert3/26/20233/26/2025Committee Member
Matt Vieson4/16/2022 Staff Liaison