Governance and Leadership Development Committee

AAR Board of Directors


The Governance and Leadership Development Committee presents to the Board at least two candidates to run for each AAR Director position elected by vote of the membership. The criteria for nomination include distinction in scholarship, teaching, and service to the Academy. The Committee selects candidates so as to bring the rich diversity of the AAR membership to the Board of Directors. The Committee may also recommend to the Board policies and procedures concerning elections to leadership positions.

Committee Members

  • Term of Office: Ex officio for the elected officers; three years for the three non-board Members
  • Committee Composition: Three Members who are not on the Board of Directors, the immediate past president of the Academy, and the Status Committee Director.

Formerly known as the Nominations Committee: The name was changed through a 2018 Bylaws amendment.

Full NameTerm StartTerm EndPosition
Dr. Edwin David Aponte1/1/202412/31/2026Committee Member
Janet R. Jakobsen1/1/202312/31/2025Committee Member
Josef Sorett1/1/202212/31/2024Committee Member
Dr. Thelathia Young11/21/202111/24/2024Committee Member
Amir Hussain11/20/202311/24/2024Immediate Past Present
Claudia Schippert8/1/2023 Staff Liaison