2021-2022 Collaborative Research Grants Awarded

Congratulations to This Year's Winners!

Every year, the AAR awards collaborative research grants, ranging from $500 to $5,000, to stimulate cooperative research among scholars with a clearly identified research project or support interdisciplinary work with scholars outside the field of religion. These projects are proposed by AAR members and selected by the AAR Research Grants Jury.

2021-2022 Winners

Stephen Covell, Western Michigan University
Holy Waters: An Interdisciplinary Examination of Religion and Alcohol

Zachary Smith, Pennsylvania State University, Harrisburg

Rosalind Hinton, Independent Scholar
Resilient Matriarchs of the Circle of Concerned African Women Theologians: Unpacking African Women Theologies for Gender Justice

Teresia Hinga, Santa Clara University
Esther Mombo, St. Paul's University, Limuru, Kenya
Telesia Musili, University of Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya

Sara Swenson, Dartmouth College
Lived Karma: Situating Interbeing in Society

Susanne Ryuyin Kerekes, Skidmore College
Jessica Xiaomin Zu, University of Southern California Dornsife