2021-2022 Individual Research Grants Awarded

Congratulations to This Year's Winners!

Every year, the AAR awards individual research grants, ranging from $500 to $5,000, to support important aspects of scholarly projects, such as field work and travel to archives and libraries. These projects are proposed by AAR members and selected by the AAR Research Grants Jury.

2021–2022 Individual Research Grant Winners

Natalya Cherry, Brite Divinity School - Texas Christian University
John Wesley: A Single Life in Communities

Nathanael Homewood, Rice University
Finding Benny Hinn: Global Entanglements in Pentecostal Faith Healing

Janna Hunter-Bowman, Anabaptist Mennonite Biblical Seminary
Beyond Sanctuary

Monique Ingalls, Baylor University
Gospel Music Goes to Uni: Musical Navigations of Religious Affiliation and Social Identity in British University Gospel Choirs

Cristina Lledo Gomez, BBI - The Australian Institute of Theological Education
A babae theology: Embracing an indigenous maternal-feminist hermeneutic for migrant Filipinas

Jennifer Ortegren, Middlebury College
New Neighbors, New Muslims: Gender, Class, and Community in Contemporary India

Jodie Vann, Dickinson College
Paeons to a New Age: The 1987 Harmonic Convergence and Contemporary “Spiritual, but not Religious” Tourism in Yucatan, Mexico

Wei Wu, Emory University
Buddhist Modernism in China’s Heartland